Blueberry-Ginger Crisp

Standard

A few days ago, I found myself with five cups of freshly-picked blueberries.

What on earth is a girl to do with that many berries? Of course, I could have eaten them all. By myself. I adore fruit.

But what’s so fun about that? My other option, of course, was to bake something. I scoured the Internet, several cookbooks and old Food & Wine magazines (am I the only seventeen year old who reads that?) for something I could whip up with the bounty of blueberries sitting on my kitchen counter. Nothing sounded right. I could have made muffins, but for some reason, I’m the only person in my family who ends up eating them. Maybe it’s because you have to eat the whole thing. It’s not acceptable to slice off half a muffin. It is acceptable, however, to cut slivers of quick bread when it’s sitting on the counter. Somehow that usually gets eaten…

Most recipes I found involved peaches.  Peaches are one of my favorite fruits, but I’m kind of a peach snob. See, I usually only eat them when I’ve gone peach picking. They’re just never the same when you buy them from the grocery store.

So, after much search, I decided to create my own blueberry dessert. My mom told me to use up the crystallized ginger that’s been sitting in our kitchen cabinet since the fall. At first I was skeptical. Blueberries and ginger? Really? I had never heard of such a combination. But a quick check of The Flavor Bible (basically my Bible), I was assured that blueberries and ginger do, in fact, go together.

The result? A blueberry-ginger crisp. Surprisingly delicious, and a fantastic way to use up surplus blueberries.

Blueberry-Ginger Crisp
Filling:
5-6 cups blueberries
1 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
3 tablespoons sugar
Cinnamon, to taste
1 teaspoon lemon juice

Topping:
1 cup whole wheat flour (or all-purpose)
1 cup rolled oats
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/3 cup crystallized ginger, finely chopped
3/4 cup sliced almonds
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted

  1. Preheat oven to 350o and grease or butter a baking dish.
  2. For filling: Mix cornstarch, sugar, and cinnamon. Sprinkle over blueberries in a large bowl; toss to coat. Add lemon juice and toss together. Spread blueberries in a baking dish.
  3. For topping: Mix together flour, oats, sugar, cinnamon, ginger, and almonds. Add butter, stir until incorporated. Sprinkle topping evenly over blueberries.
  4. Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until filling is bubbling and topping is golden brown.
    Serve warm or at room temperature, but don’t forget to serve with a scoop (or two… or three…) of vanilla ice cream. For added fanciness, sprinkle some cinnamon on the ice cream. Yum.

           


Leave a Reply

