Rubuarb-Ginger Spritzer

Standard

The other day I took a trip to a lovely farmers market and purchased some rhubarb. Confession: before today, I had never tasted or cooked with rhubarb. Ever. Rhubarb seems like the quintessential spring fruit (is it a fruit? Or a vegetable? Root? I don’t know!) and I was excited to try it. Unfortunately, it’s hot out. Really hot. As much as I wanted to bake something nice with my rhubarb, I couldn’t bring myself to turn on the oven.

So I chose to make a drink, which is what started this blog last summer. I combined rhubarb, ginger and mint (also from the farmers market!) with sparkling water to create a refreshing summer beverage. It’s a sophisticated drink that can be sweetened to your liking. Feel free to reduce the sugar in the simple syrup mixture and dilute the finished drink as much as you’d like.

Image

Rhubarb-Ginger Spritzer

1 cup water
1 cup granulated sugar
2 cups chopped rhubarb
1 tablespoon grated ginger
1 sprig of mint, plus more for garnish
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
4 cups club soda

  1. For the syrup: In a medium saucepan, cook water, sugar, rhubarb, ginger and mint over medium heat until the mixture thickens, about 20-30 minutes. Remove from heat and pour mixture through a fine-mesh sieve. Discard the solids and mix lemon juice into the syrup. Let cool.
  2. To prepare the spritzer, mix 1 cup syrup with 4 (or more) cups of club soda. Garnish with mint.
Leave a Reply

